iCloud: Remove device from Find My iPhone


If you've got an iPhone or iPad that you simply don’t use any longer and it’s still logged into iCloud, you'll be able to remove it from find My iPhone. once you remove your iPhone or iPad from iCloud and turn off find My iPhone it also deactivates Activation Lock at the same time.

The main reason you'd want to remove find My iPhone from your iCloud settings would be if you wanted to give your iPhone or iPad away. one more reason would be if you wanted to list it on OTFeed. so before you sell your device, you need to wipe your iPhone or iPad and erase your content and settings (in Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings). once you go to erase all of your information from your iPhone or iPad, you'll be asked to turn off find My iPhone and Activation Lock before you'll be able to reset your iPhone or iPad.

Remove an iOS device or mac from find My iPhone by turning off find My iPhone



  • On an iOS device: move to Settings > iCloud, then tap to turn off find My [device].
  • On a Mac: select Apple menu > System Preferences, click iCloud, then deselect find My mac
Note: you'll be able to additionally remove your device by turning off iCloud completely on that device. Turning off iCloud turns off all iCloud options on the device.

Remove an iOS device or mac on which you can’t turn off find My iPhone

If you've got problems and you can’t turn off find My iPhone, the simplest choices would be to turn your iPhone or iPad off so it goes offline. Once the device is offline, you'll be able to remove find My iPhone by going to iCloud.com.

Steps to turn off find My iPhone:


  1. Turn off your iPhone or iPad that you simply need to remove find My iPhone.
  2. Sign in to iCloud.com/find on another laptop with your Apple ID.
  3. Select All Devices, choose the offline device, then click remove from Account. If the device comes online once more, it'll reappear in find My iPhone.


Remove an iOS device you no longer have

If you no longer have the iOS device because you gave it away or sold it, you need to remotely erase it before you'll be able to remove it.

  1. Sign in to iCloud.com/find with your Apple ID.
  2. Click All Devices, then choose the device.
  3. Click Erase [device], then enter your Apple ID password. If the device is offline, the remote erase begins the next time it’s on-line. You’ll receive an email once the device is erased.


Now that your iPhone or iPad has been released, you'll be able to choose “Remove from Account” to remove and erase all of your content. now you'll be able to sell your iPhone or iPad and allow somebody else to activate find My iPhone